My Books

Seeking Mansfield - Out now from Flux!



Goodreads  //  Indiebound  //  Barnes & Noble  //  Amazon  //  Books-A-Million  //  Target


    SEEKING MANSFIELD is a charming YA contemporary reimagining of Jane Austen’s classic 
    Mansfield Park, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Rainbow Rowell.

    Sixteen year-old Finley Price has perfected two things: how to direct a world-class production, 
    and how to fly way, way under the radar. The only person who ever seems to notice Finley is 
    her best friend and godparents' son, Oliver Bertram. If she could just take Oliver's constant 
    encouragement to heart and step out of the shadows, she'd finally chase her dream of joining 
    the prestigious Mansfield Theater.

    But when teen movie stars Emma and Harlan Crawford move across the street from the 
    Bertram's, they immediately set their sights on Oliver and his cunning sister, Juliette, shaking up 
    Finley and Oliver's stable friendship. As Emma and Oliver grow closer, Harlan finds his   
    attention shifting from Juliette to the quiet, enigmatic, and thoroughly unimpressed Finley. Out 
    of boredom, Harlan decides to make her fall in love with him. Problem is, the harder he seeks 
    to win her, the harder he falls for her. 
     
    But Finley doesn't want to be won, and she doesn't want to see Oliver with anyone else. To 
    claim Oliver's heartand keep her ownshe'll have to find the courage to do what she fears 
    most: step into the spotlight.


Advanced Praise for Seeking Mansfield  

This debut ultimately weaves an impressive mosaic and is an excellent selection for fans of young adult literature that is heavily thematic or romantic. - School Library Journal

A commendable adaptation of a 200-year-old tale made fresh for a 21st-century audience.
 - Kirkus Reviews


All the drama of a classic romance, refreshingly set in the modern day. Watson's characters pop, and the tension is masterfully maintained throughout. - Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost and Never Always Sometimes 

If you love heartfelt, emotional, romantic, witty stories ... you will love Watson's debut. It was beyond swoon worthy! - Kasie West, author of By Your Side and PS I Like You 


In Seeking Mansfield, Kate Watson brilliantly updates Jane Austen's classic Mansfield Park for a modern audience, crafting a fun, thoughtful, thoroughly romantic read. - Rosalyn Eves, author of Blood Rose Rebellion 


Delightfully witty and irresistibly romantic! Kate Watson honors Austen's classic tale while adding a heart and humor that is decidedly her own. - Abigail Johnson, author of If I Fix You



Welcome Home:

Out with Flux in September of 2017, Eric Smith’s anthology WELCOME HOME, is a collection that explores the emotional complexities of adoption, featuring new, multi-genre short stories from an array of authors.

Read about it on Bustle.

Add it on Goodreads!



Shoot the Moon:

The companion novel to Seeking Mansfield. Coming in 2018!

LIKE IT? SHARE IT:
Pin ThisEmail This